10 Reasons Why I’m Excited About October

Hello Darling,

Yesterday was the first day of October and I woke up with an extra pep in my step. Why, you may ask? Because October is by far my favorite month of the year and it’s finally here!  So I present to you 10 reasons why I’m excited about October this year.

1. This October Begins on a New Moon

For the past year or so, I have been paying closer attention to the Lunar cycles and what each phase means. The New Moon phase is the best time for new beginnings, new endeavors, positive changes, and hope + faith. I was absolutely stoked when I looked at my calendar and saw that the New Moon lines up with the first day of October.

2. Autumn Cleaning

After a hot summer of intense A/C and shut windows, its time to air everything out before winter sets in. I love the idea of having 2 major cleaning days, one in the spring and one in the fall. It’s a great time to declutter your home and bring out all of the cozy fall decor.

3. Autumn Festivals

The cooler temps of autumn make time spent outdoors at fall festivals much more enjoyable.

4. Bundling Weather

The time has come to put away the summer wear and bust out the cozy knits and heavy textures of fall. I’m all for hoodies, leggings, and boots… but I also crave chunky sweaters, cozy scarves, and heavy blankets.

5. Autumn Treats

Bring on the home-baked goodies, warm apple cider, and delicious hot soups! Fall is the time for savory treats and comfort food.

6. Cool-Weather Hikes

Mr. J and I love hiking, just not in hot weather. I plan for us to take full advantage of the cool weather this month to go hiking and enjoy the fall foliage.

7. Pumpkin Patches + Apple Orchards

Our town hosts a small pumpkin patch every year that I love to stroll through. And a few hours away is an orchard that has incredible apple cider and cookies. We are most definitely planning on going to both next weekend!

8. The Calm Before the Storm for NaNoWriMo

This will be my first year of participating in NaNoWriMo for the month of November.  I’m planning on using October to prep myself and my story for the writing frenzy that will be sure to happen next month.

9. Bonfires + Cookouts

Mr. J and I live out in the countryside and love having large bonfires that light the night sky. There is nothing better than roasting toasty marshmallows over an open fire. 🙂

10. Everything Halloween

And of course…. HALLOWEEN! Hocus Pocus, candy, costumes, haunted houses! Need I say more? 🙂

What makes this October special for you? Is fall your favorite season too? I hope you all have some amazingly fun plans for this month! 🙂

-Bethany

Leave a Reply

