Seventeen Before 2017

Hello Darling,

With the first chills of Autumn greeting us, we are quickly reminded that 2016 is coming to a close. And with that, the chance to complete any unfinished tasks/goals from the year. I was inspired by Kara at Boho Berry with her Sixteen before 2016 post to complete my own for this year. So I present to you, Darling, my Seventeen Before 2017!

1. Launch ‘I Think I’ll Just Be Happy’ Blog

I originally wrote my seventeen before 2017 in my bullet journal over a month ago before I launched my blog. So I’m happy to say that I have successfully completed one of my goals on this list!

2. Read a Jane Austen Novel

I absolutely adore classic literature and love watching film adaptions of Jane Austen novels. So it only makes perfect sense to finally read at least one of her great works.

3. Knit a Sweater/Shrug

Up to this point, I have only knitted smaller items like scarves, headbands, and fingerless gloves. Now it’s time to stretch myself and test my skills with a more complicated project.

4. Deep Clean my Office

Right now my office is a bit cluttered and I feel the need to do an Autumn cleaning before we settle down for the upcoming cold months.

5. Complete 30 Days No Soda Challenge

To break my terrible habit of drinking soda, my goal is to go cold turkey for a total of 30 days.

6. Participate in NaNoWriMo in November

For as long as I can remember, I have had the undeniable urge to put pen to paper and create imaginative storylines. I have had the desire to write a novel for so long and what better way to give me the final push to do so than participating in NaNoWriMo. But before I get started on the draft, I need to plot the storyline and create an outline to guide me through the writing process.

7. Complete 30 Days of Yoga Practice

I really want to solidify my habit of practicing yoga daily by challenging myself to doing 30 consecutive days of yoga practice.

8. Design My First Knitting Pattern

After knitting for over a year now, I want to dabble into designing my own knitting patterns. I want to use the sale of my own knitting patterns as a form of passive income.

9. Learn to Spin Yarn

I want to be involved in all aspects of turning a bundle of fiber into garment so that includes learning to spin fiber into usable yarn. And I have the romanticized idea of sitting in front of a cozy fireplace on a winter evening spinning yarn on a treadle spinning wheel.

10. Learn To Dye Fibers

I hold myself to high standards when it comes down to my choice of fibers: all natural and organic material. When it comes down to dyeing those fibers, I want to master using natural and organic dyes to help lower the amount of chemicals I come across on a daily basis.

11. Start An Etsy Shop

My vision for the Etsy shop is to create beautiful lines of all-naturally hand-dyed + hand-spun yarns for knitters and crocheters to enjoy. Also, this will be a platform for the sale of the knitting patterns I have designed.

12. Knit a Pair of Socks

I absolutely LOVE cute knitted socks but I have yet to attempt to knit a pair. That will all change this autumn/winter and I will be sporting a cozy pair by the end of the year.

13. Do a Bullet Journal Walk-Through

I’ve been using my bullet journal since the middle of August and feel like I’m finally finding my groove to where I feel comfortable enough to share it with others.

14. Take Dance Classes…Again

I started taking dance classes when I was a Junior in high school. Ballet and jazz classes were my  favorite classes to take at the local dance studio. When I went to college, my crazy schedule meant I couldn’t spare any time from studying and working to take classes. But now that I’ve graduated in the spring, I have the luxury to join up again.

15. Foster a Community/Tribe Through The Blog

My sincere hope with this blog is to create and foster a positive and supportive community of like-minded folks. The platform I intend to use is through a group page on Facebook and through my email list.

16. Go On A Hiking Trip

With the onset of cooler weather, I have the intense urge get outside and enjoy the beautiful weather. I love to go hiking with Mr. J, even if its only a short day hike up at Starved Rock.

17. Handcraft All Holiday Gifts

Mr. J and I believe that the holidays should be about spending quality time with our families rather than in the stores hunting down some gift that the recipient might not even like. Instead, this year we’re going to handcraft all of our holiday gifts for our families. I just hoped they’re prepared for the amount of knitted wear coming their way.

What is on your seventeen before 2017 list?

-Bethany

Leave a Reply

