Starting My Bullet Journal

Hello Darling,

I’m not certain if many of you have heard of this planning phenomenon called bullet journaling… but I am completely caught up in its whirlwind! Below is the definition of what a bullet journal is from the official website.

The Bullet Journal is a customizable and forgiving organization system. It can be your to-do list, sketchbook, notebook, and diary, but most likely, it will be all of the above. It will teach you to do more with less. – Ryder Carroll

Ryder Carroll, a digital designer, created this analog system back in 2013. This simplistic planning method is incredible because the user can customize the spreads to their needs instead of being ‘forced’ to plan inside the designated boxes of a pre-printed planner.

If you need more information on the system, here is a link for Ryder’s website, the source of it all.

Why I need the bullet journal system.

First of all, I need to admit something to you…. I am a stationary addict. There, I have said it and its out in the open! I have gobs of blank notebooks lying about just waiting to have incredible stories written on their pages. So of course this handwritten system was right up my alley.

On a more practical note, I have a handful of ‘projects/work’ coming up and I need the organization. I began this blog at the beginning of September so I needed a way to keep my blogging schedule consistent. Also, I will begin teaching several business classes at the university for the fall quarter, which begins at the end of the month. So overall, I am in need of some heavy duty organization and a planning system that I will stick with.

What I have done so far in my bujo.

Officially, I began my bujo journey last month in August. So with almost a month under my belt, I’m still figuring out what spreads work best for me. Side note: I am heavily inspired by Kara at Boho Berry…. she is incredible!! Check out her website here. So far, I have created basic monthly spreads, weekly spreads [they change every week… still finding my groove], daily spreads, and habit tracker.

2016-09-07-08-47-43

Now, as far as tools go, I don’t have the Leuchtturm 1917 notebook that many other bullet journal enthusiasts use. Instead, I use the Monogram Crest Journal I picked
up at Anthropologie in Chicago after my graduation this past spring. For the longest time I didn’t know what I wanted to write in my monogram journal, but thank goodness [for once] I was too impatient to wait for something to arrive in the mail because  I scanned my office, saw that journal, and thought to myself “that’ll work.”And I LOVE it!!!

For pens, I do use the Faber-Castell PITT artist pens that I picked up at Barnes and Noble one day. And I use my Erin Condren felt-tip pens for a touch of color in my bujo.

My September Bujo Plans

For this month, I’m incorporating a few more spreads + a whole new bujo for the blog. First off, I’m kicking the soda habit to the curb. I created a tracker at the beginning of the month to track my 30 Days No Soda challenge I issued to myself. I’m on day 9 and going strong!! My other goal is to do a better job of completing the habits I have on my tracker. So far I’m tracking:

  • waking up at 6:30 am
  • yoga practice
  • flossing
  • language practice
  • knitting
  • writing
  • reading
  • no-spending
  • bed by 10:30 pm

I am planning to do a review and a walk-through of my bujo for the end of September, so you can get an inside look into my journal. 🙂

As for the second bujo, I have started a blog bujo to help my plan and track my blog posts. Again, I was very inspired by
Kara at Boho Berry and her walk-through of her blog + business bujo. I pretty much follow what she had done with her blog + business bujo and I plan to do a walk-through of it as well.

a dash of community and resources

If you know of any more awesome resources and communities for bullet journaling, please let me know in the comments so I can get those added to this list. And I would love to hear about your bujo stories! 🙂

– Bethany

Leave a Reply

