… And Here We Go!

Hello Darling,

Here we go… the first of many posts in a journey towards simple living and being happy! This is all so very exciting and terrifying at the same time!

So to start off with, I wish to most graciously welcome you to my blog and hope that you will join me on this incredible journey. I should probably begin with a quick background of myself before moving into what my hopes are for this corner of the internet.

My name is Bethany and I am a 20-something-year-old trying to get a handle on this thing called ‘adulting.’ I graduated earlier this year with my Master’s in Business Administration and I’m still trying to put it to good use. After jumping out into the ‘real world’ for a few months, I realized I missed the routine and familiarity of the academic lifestyle… so at the end of this month I’m teaching at a university instead. 🙂

For the past few months, I have been working in retail and I realized that I didn’t like trying to sell clothing to people who really didn’t need anymore clothes. I felt bad for persuading them to purchase just one more item for whatever promotion we had going at the time. This wasn’t in line with mine or Mr. J’s values anymore. Instead, we want to be more minimalistic, less materialistic, and experience more in this world than just things.

This is where the blog comes in. I want to document my journey towards a simpler lifestyle that isn’t caught up in the unnecessary hustle and bustle of the typical American life. Through this blog I’m going to write on minimalism, wanderlust, wildcrafting, wellness, and beauty. Hopefully with my intent to write more on these topics, I will be better able to incorporate these into my daily life and inspire you to make any changes in your life as well.

So I extend this invitation for you to join me on this adventure and see where it takes us.

The journey of a thousand miles begins with one step. – Lao Tzu

So, Darling, let this post be our first step on our path of a thousand miles.

-Bethany

Leave a Reply

